Epiphany

sugar high

PS he didn’t eat the whole thing.

We all know that amusement parks are overpriced for the sake of being overpriced. The last time we went to our local park my son talked me out of a tube of sugar. You know the ones: the tubes come in various lengths and prices, you can choose from about twenty different flavors on a kiosk, blah, blah, blah. The tube I let him have was $4.99.

My son is a bit of a pack rat and wouldn’t let me dispose of the empty tube. So I asked him if he’d like me to fill it up again. I happen to have purchased baking flavors on a clearance rack after Christmas last year. He enthusiastically agreed. So I pulled out the handy dandy Kitchen Aid food process and measured out how much sugar the tub held. It held a whopping 6 teaspoons or a tablespoon a half. I knew they didn’t hold a lot, but I paid five bucks for six teaspoons of sugar. I am in the wrong business.

Back to the processor. I put in one drop of cherry flavoring and a squirt of lemon because all that stuff has citric acid in it. (I think you can buy it from the store; I happened to have a lemon in the fridge) I whizzed it up and poured it in the tube. I made extra for later. And I have a happy, sugared up six year old.

Leave a Reply

