Flying Feathers

There is an episode of I Love Lucy where Lucy and Ethel take on reupholstering the Mertzes Furniture. Of course you know, nothing seems to go right. At one point Lucy cuts into Fred’s beloved recliner and piles the chair guts on a table only to have someone accidently turn on a fan and send the feathers flying all over the apartment to the amusement of the live studio audience. That sums up my mom and I.

Last week we took on the BATHROOM. Da da da dummmmmmmm. Let me back up…. 53 years ago. My Grandma and Grandpa bought the house the my mom lives in now. They purchased the house just before my mom was born. Before that they lived in an apartment in the civil war era mansion down the street and around the corner.

My grandpa was an AVID do-it-yourselfer and if he couldn’t do it, he knew a guy, who knew a guy, who knew a guy (you get where I’m going with this?) that could get the job done.

After my grandparents passed away my mom inherited the house… with all of it’s, well, lets call them eccentricities. Anyone else would call them flaws, we call them character.

Fast forward to the present, or rather last month. Mom decided that she wanted to replace the bathroom window because it was rotting out of its frame. This was an “if you give a mouse a cookie” situation. If the window came out we’d HAVE to replace the nasty, yellowed laminate. If we removed the laminate, part of the green drywall would have to go, then the molded fiberglass underneath, etc., etc., etc. (Once again, do you get where I’m going with this?) The project compounded costs, work, and antics… We hashed out the details until… we talked our self into the project and absolutley had to begin… and OHHHHH this was just the beginning….

Leave a Reply

